First Time Ferris Wheel

Posted: March 8, 2011 in Funny Moments
Tags: , , ,

As we trip down memory lane, we try to avoid the passageway to bad experiences. This is duly because the emotions are stirred and once again we feel the pain or the anguish of our hearts. But needless to say, the same bad experiences helped us in the molding of our lives. Those incidents made us stronger that we are able to brave the storms while we exist.

However, in the same passageway are the funny experiences that brought smiles and happiness in our life. These experiences contributed as well in our shaping. Either we cry or laugh, the good thing is, we learned.

It was the tenth of August of two thousand eight, around eight in the evening. I was strolling with my adopted little sister; we were roaming around the banketa and were looking for something that might interest us.

The street was filled with many street vendors. Foods, gadgets, materials were all around us. The municipal fiesta was at its peak. People were everywhere.

My eyes caught piles of DVDs (pirated) at the other side of the bangketa. We motioned to that part and I bought two DVDs from which I thought the best among all – Get Bakers and Saver Marionettes (which I used to watch when I was a kid, probably at age 10) and yes, both are anime.

You might be wondering what is anime? Well, I believe one time in your life, you were a fun of Ninja Turtles, or Spiderman, X-Men and how about Sponge Bob, or Dora, the Explorer or Dragon Ball Z? You probably have a hint now of what anime is. If you think anime are animated movies, the word say it so!

Too much ado… now, back to the sequence of events.

The evening was just right although t’was a little hot. There was no moon but the stars glittered and twinkled like diamonds in the sky (Twinkle, twinkle little star). The voice of a man from a big speaker echoed as he tells numbers and series of numbers for the game he played. Bingo!

Our feet brought us to the place, the gambling site. In the same place stood a strong and magnificent wheel spinning in the air. People were shouting and screaming and I felt the urge to try riding on that thing.

I remembered one of my classmates way back high school when he asked our physics teacher how does it feel to be in the outer space. My teacher said, “Ride a ferris wheel and you will know how it feels.”

So, I thought, I might give it a try.

I invited my little sister to the ferris wheel. Poor me! for the span of 22 years since the day I was born, it was my first time to step on its cradle and be lullaby by the screaming seaters.

I cannot forget the feeling. I will always cherish it.

The ferris wheel moved in a slow to fast rhythm. I grasped for my breath. I thought I was losing air and my external organs were left behind my back whenever we go down, and there is too much air whenever we go up. I am sure, I felt like my heart was misplaced! When we were on the top, being able to see everything down from a high ground, I thought I have acrophobia – afraid of heights. I also thought that any minute from that moment, the handle I was gripping on to would loose and we would fall down. I was even afraid to twitch or to stoop over as it might cause imbalance and we might fall.

The moment was fraught with excitement and nervousness. I shut my mouth tight although occasionally, I let go of a chortle just to ease myself. I did not scream, of course… it was unmanly to do and I did not want my little sister to tell me I look like a baby. I feigned my valor because I did not want to mar the moment of my sister. I thought I portrayed a dauntless person but in fact looking at my demeanor that time would have had spoken the truth.

The evening was filled with happiness and fulfillment. We went home happy with mix emotions and with the thought that I will ride again to a ferris wheel sometime in the near future, and true enough, I did.

Leave a Reply

